2017 OREGON AFL-CIO LEGISLATIVE SCORECARD



LEGISLATOR OF THE YEAR REPRESENTATIVE DAN RAYFIELD



UNION DEFENDER AWARD SENATOR ARNIE ROBLAN



ROOKIE OF THE YEAR SENATOR JAMES MANNING

OREGON SENATE

PLATINUM

Michael Dembrow Arnie Roblan

GOLD

Ginny Burdick
Kathleen Taylor
Richard Devlin
Lew Frederick
Sara Gelser
James Manning
Laurie Monnes Anderson
Elizabeth Steiner-Hayward

SILVER

Peter Courtney Lee Beyer

BRONZE

Rod Monroe Floyd Prozanski Chuck Riley

HONORABLE MENTION

Brian Boquist Alan DeBoer Bill Hansell Mark Hass Betsy Johnson Jackie Winters

OREGON HOUSE

PLATINUM

Tina Kotek
Jennifer Williamson
Margaret Doherty
Chris Gorsek
Paul Holvey
Nancy Nathanson
Rob Nosse
Dan Rayfield
Barbara Smith Warner

GOLD

Teresa Alonso Leon Jeff Barker Phil Barnhart Ken Helm Diego Hernandez Ann Lininger Sheri Malstrom Susan McLain Mark Meek Carla Piluso Karin Power Tawna Sanchez Janeen Sollman

SILVER

Janelle Bynum
Paul Evans
Julie Fahey
David Gomberg
Mitch Greenlick
Alissa Keny-Guyer
John Lively
Pam Marsh
Jeff Reardon

BRONZE

Brian Clem Brad Witt

HONORABLE MENTION

John Huffman Bill Kennemer Caddy McKeown Andy Olson Greg Smith



he Oregon AFL-CIO is proud to be a voice for all workers in the Oregon Legislature. We represent over 300,000 working Oregonians and over 290 affiliated local unions. The 2017 legislative session had some major wins and losses for workers across the state. This scorecard reflects not only the Oregon AFL-CIO's board adopted agenda, but those bills that our affiliates deemed priorities. We take into account not only votes on bills, but legislators' actions that helped or hindered each of the bills we count, and when legislators are willing to stand up for workers outside of the legislative process, whether they are supporting workers who are forming unions, standing up for workers during a contract fight or showing solidarity on a picket line.

This year we chose to recognize legislators with three different awards. Legislator of the Year is given to the legislator who consistently stands up for workers as they take hard votes, is accessible, is willing to stand up for workers in tough conversations, and is always a voice that enables working people to have a say in the legislative process. Union Defender goes to the legislator who always stands up for collective bargaining and inherently understands the right for workers to collectively negotiate for better workplace and community standards. Rookie of the Year goes to an outstanding first term legislator who was not only willing to work with the breadth of the federation, but also consistently embodies the values of the labor movement.

OREGON AFL-CIO BOARD ADOPTED AGENDA WINS

- SB 1040: The Rural Oregon Worker Protection Act
 Protected workers against so called "Right to Work" attacks at the local level
- HB 828: Fair Work Week
 Ensured scheduling protections for workers in the retail, hospitality and service sectors
- HB 2017: The Transportation Package
 Funded the largest investment in statewide infrastructure in Oregon History
- HB 3391: Reproductive Health Equity
 Extended the full range of reproductive healthcare to all women regardless of income or documentation status
- HB 2355: End Profiling
 Created and funded a mechanism for tracking and correcting patterns of profiling by law enforcement
- HB 558: Cover all Kids
 Extended healthcare access to all low-income children regardless of documentation status
- Defended Against PERS Attacks

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Revenue

The failure to raise revenue leaves hundreds of thousands of working Oregonians unsure about our state's ability to fund vital services and with an ongoing need to restructure our tax system that still allows corporations to pay some of the lowest tax rates of any state.

- Paid Family Leave
- Renter Protections

The Oregon AFL-CIO looks forward to working with our affiliates and allies to ensure working people's issues and voices are heard during the 2018 Legislative Session. If you have questions about the scorecard process, or our priorities for future sessions please reach out to Jess Giannettino Villatoro at Jess@oraflcio.org.